Every UK state school is run by a Governing Body. Governors are responsible for raising school standards through three key roles: setting strategic direction, ensuring accountability and acting as a critical friend.

Formal policies relating to Tufnell Park Primary School’s Governing body and its activities are listed on this page of our website: Policies

Governors are the largest volunteer force in this country.


The size and composition of the governing body is determined by statute and by our Instrument of Government. This currently provides for 19  governors:  the head teacher, six elected parent governors, one governor appointed by the Local Education Authority, one elected staff governor and ten co-opted governors, no more than three of whom may be members of staff.  Co-opted governors are recruited on the basis of the skills they bring to the governing body.


Find out more about each of our current governors on the Meet the Governors page of this site.


We are always interested in finding people with appropriate skills to serve as co-opted governors. Please contact the school at any time if you are interested in becoming a governor.  The headteacher and/ or Chair of Governors would be very happy to speak with you.  Even if there isn’t a current vacancy for a full governor role, there may be other ways you can  use your skills to help the governing body until a vacancy becomes available.


The full governing body meets not less than three times a year. Every governor is also part of at least one committee: teaching & learning; resources; and children, families & community.  These meet once each term.  All parent and most co-opted governors also have a link role, overseeing a specific area of school activity. The term of service for most categories of governor is four years.


You can download a summary of the committees and their membership here:




 Contacting the Governors: If you would like to contact the Governors, please email  or leave an envelope at the school office,  addressed For the Attention of the Chair of Governors.